Next Game

Sponsorswaikatodraught2SponsorsSponsorsSponsors2degreesspliceNew Harcourts logo BLUE RGBSponsorsSponsorsSponsors

The Chiefs Rugby Club has announced its 2015 Chiefs Development Squad which will assemble for the first time on Sunday 1 February at Chiefs Headquarters in Hamilton.

There is an exciting mix of ITM Cup Provincial Unions players from the Chiefs region, NZ U20s trialists and other young promising players.  Members from the Chiefs squad are also expected to be involved in the matches.

Chiefs Player Identification & Development Manager Dave Dillon will lead the Development Team programme.  Dillon will be the Head Coach and is joined by ITM Cup Premier Champions Taranaki’s Assistant Coach Leo Crowley and former Chiefs captain Deon Muir.  Past Chiefs player, Roger Randle will also provide some part time resource skills coaching.

Dillon said “The Chiefs Development programme is carried out in conjunction with our Provincial Union programmes and has become and integral part of player development in the Chiefs region.”
“Taranaki’s Seta Tamanivalu who went on to become the ITM Cup Player of the Year last year came through our programme and a number of other Chiefs Development players have progressed to the Chiefs level this season which is great reward for those guys.”

In addition to Tamanivalu, those players include former Chiefs Development players Johan Bardoul (Bay of Plenty), Damian McKenzie (Waikato), Maama Vaipulu and Toni Pulu (Counties Manukau) who have joined the Chiefs 2015 Investec Super Rugby squad.

The Chiefs Development side will play the curtain raiser match with the Blues Development team for the two Investec Super Rugby fixtures between the Chiefs and the Blues.  The first of their two matches is at North Harbour on Valentines Day 14 February and the second at Waikato Stadium on Easter Saturday 4 April.

The Chiefs Development side will also play two matches with the Hurricanes Development team and provide a warm up match for the New Zealand U20s side in late May prior to the New Zealand U20s departure to the Junior World Cup competition in June.

2015 Chiefs Development Squad



Solomona Sakalia (BOP)
Ryan Cocker (T)
Atunaisa Moli (W)
Jarrod Firth (CM)
Tau Koloamatangi (W)


Joseph Royal (BOP)
Epalahame Faiva (W)
Steven Misa (W)


Tim Bond (BOP)
Richard Hoeata (T)
Brian Alainu'uese (W)
Jacob Skeen (W)


James Tucker (W)
Mitchell Jacobson (W)
Mitchell Crosswell (T)
Zane Kapeli (W)
Lachlan Boshier (T)


Harrison Levien (W)
Jono Kitto (BOP)
Te Aihe Toma  (BOP)


Daniel Hollinshead (BOP)
Michael Stanley (CM)
Bryn Gatland (W)


Jason Thomasen (W)
Sasa Tofilau (W)
Sean Wainui (T)
Joseph Ikenasio (CM)
Cardiff Vaega (CM)


Cody Rei (T)
Ngataua Hukatai (CM)
Jordan Trainor (W)
Brynn Uriarau (BOP)
Shaun Stevenson (W)

Unavailable due to injury

Siegfried Fisihoi (BOP)
Sioane Fifita (CM)
Jared Page (CM)
Jordan Payne (W)
Troy Callandar (BOP)
Loni Uhila (W)

Management Team

Head Coach
Dave Dillon

Assistant Coaches
Leo Crowley
Deon Muir

Resource Coach
Roger Randle

Gareth Duncan

Strength & Conditioning Coach
Brad Mayo

Paul Taitoko

Mark Ray


Chiefs Development Programme 2015

Saturday 14 February
Blues v Chiefs
North Harbour Stadium       
(Curtain raiser to Blues v Chiefs Investec Super Rugby Match)

Wednesday 18 March
Chiefs v Hurricanes

Saturday 4 April
Chiefs v Blues
Waikato Stadium                  
(Curtain raiser to Chiefs v Blues Investec Super Rugby Match)

Thursday 23 April (TBC)
Hurricanes v Chiefs
Venue TBC

Monday 25 May
Chiefs v NZU20’s
Kick off times to be confirmed

Sponsorswaikatodraught2SponsorsSponsorsSponsors2degreesspliceNew Harcourts logo BLUE RGBSponsorsSponsorsSponsors